Animal Welfare Branch

The Animal Welfare Authority is responsible for making sure animal owners follow the rules, and appoints welfare inspectors and officers to ensure that animals are treated humanely, prevent cruelty to animals and promote community awareness about the welfare of animals.

The Department of Primary Industry and Resources (DPIR) Animal Welfare Branch (AWB), is the administrative arm of the Animal Welfare Authority.

To find out more information on Animal Welfare visit

Animal Protection Bill 2018

On 8 February 2018, the Minister for Primary Industry and Resources introduced the Animal Protection Bill (‘the Bill’) into the Legislative Assembly. The prepared Bill aligns and builds upon the existing regulatory framework in the Territory, with clearly defined rights, roles and responsibilities for government, industry and the community for animal welfare matters.

Find out more information

Last updated: 27 March 2018